The Second Debt-for-Nature Swap between the United States and Costa Rica, manages funds for 10 Conservation Areas, which contain the following prioritized terrestrial Protected Areas:

Arenal Huetar Norte Conservation Area
  • Arenal Volcano National Park
  • Caño Negro National Wildlife Refuge.
  • Juan Castro Blanco Water National Park
Arenal Tempisque Conservation Area
  • Miravalles National Park
  • Palo Verde National Park
  • Tenorio Volcano National Park
  • Arenal Monteverde Protected Zone
Central Conservation Area
  • Turrialba Volcano National Park
  • Braulio Carrillo National Park
  • Irazú Volcano National Park
  • Poas Volcano National Park
  • La Cangreja National Park
  • Los Quetzales National Park
  • Cerro Vueltas Biological Reserve
  • Tapantí – Macizo de la Muerte National Park
  • Alberto Manuel Brenes Biological Reserve
Guanacaste Conservation Area
  • Guanacaste National Park
  • Rincon de la Vieja National Park
  • Santa Rosa National Park (terrestrial sector)
La Amistad Caribe Conservation Area
  • Barbilla National Park
  • La Amistad Caribe International Park.
  • Hitoy Cerere Biological Reserve
La Amistad Pacific Conservation Area
  • La Amistad Pacific International Park – Las Tablas Protected Area
  • Chirripo National Park
Osa Conservation Area
  • Corcovado National Park (terrestrial sector)
  • Golfo Dulce Forest Reserve
Central Pacific Conservation Area
  • Carara National Park
Tempisque Conservation Area
  • Barra Honda National Park
  • Diriá National Park
  • Mata Redonda National Wildlife Refuge
  • Corral de Piedra Wetland Marshland
  • Iguanita National Wildlife Refuge
  • Nicolas Wessberg Absolute Natural Reserve
Tortuguero Conservation Area
  • Barra del Colorado National Wildlife Refuge